© 2019 Thad Williamson. Authorized and Paid For By Thad Williamson For Richmond City Council.

Thad Williamson for Richmond City Council announces a 26-member Steering Committee. The Committee includes 5th District residents as well as community leaders from a variety of neighborhoods and sectors, all committed to helping ensure Thad is successful in his campaign for a thriving 5th District.


The Steering Committee will work closely with campaign staff members – Eric Payne (Campaign Manager), Tobias Estes (Deputy Campaign Manager), and Teresa Caviness (Treasurer and Senior Advisor). Williamson says: “I am incredibly proud to announce this Committee. As a professor of leadership studies, I know that the most successful teams have diversity of experience, diversity of thought, and diversity of networks. Bringing people together sparks creativity and new insights. We have built a team that looks like the 5th District and is committed to working toward an inclusive, equitable Richmond.”


Thad Williamson for Richmond City Council - 2019 Steering Committee

(Organizations are listed for identification purposes only and do not imply endorsement.)


Ms. Beth Almore – Richmond Public Schools music teacher (4 schools, including Swansboro ES)

Mr. Aaron Berryhill – VCU graduate student (Planning), former teacher and current track coach (George Wythe HS)

Dr. Ram Bhagat – Restorative Justice Educator, arts innovator and mindfulness leader - Richmond Public Schools

Dr. Yvonne Jones Bibbs – Pastor - Sixth Baptist Church

Rev. Ben Campbell – Pastor Emeritus - Richmond Hill

Ms. Britni Clark – 5th District resident (Randolph), brand and content strategist

Ms. Heather Crislip – Nonprofit CEO and Vice President - Binford MS PTA

Ms. Cate Engel – Richmond Area Manager - The Choice Group (Vocational Rehabilitation), past PTA officer (John B. Cary ES)

Ms. Samantha Garbus – 5th District resident (Byrd Park), former finance officer and community volunteer

Ms. Libby Germer – 5th District resident, Member of Maymont Civic League, former RPS history teacher (George Wythe HS)

Mr. Bill Harrison – 5th District resident (Byrd Park) and Nonprofit Executive Director

Ms. Cora Hayes – 5th District resident (Randolph) and public housing advocate

Ms. Grace Holcomb – 5th District resident (Byrd Park), Teammate Enablement - SunTrust

Ms. Addie Johnson – VCU graduate class of 2019 and community activist

Mr. David Jones – 5th District resident (Byrd Park), Owner - David F. Jones & Son Construction, LLC and youth advocate

Mr. Bobby Keener – 5th District resident (Carytown), Technology Innovations Officer - VA Department of Education

Ms. Courtney Layman – 5th District resident (Woodland Heights), local organizational consultant - The Spark Mill

Mr. Rudolph McCollum – former 5th District City Council representative and former Mayor of the City of Richmond

Mr. Clarence McGill – 5th District resident (Carillon), small business owner and workforce development specialist (Sheriff’s Office);

       member of the Syracuse Eight

Mr. Liam Mulcahy – Richmond Public Schools math teacher

Ms. Rupa Murthy – Education advocate and PTA President, Albert Hill MS

Mr. Dayshaun Penn – 5th District resident (Swansboro), Richmond Public Schools student (HS Senior)

Mr. Bryce Robertson – RPS graduate, immigration lawyer, community activist and education advocate

Mr. Garrett Sawyer – Open HS graduate, project manager and community activist

Dr. Genevieve Siegel-Hawley – 5th District resident (Byrd Park) and VCU Associate Professor of Education

Ms. Ash Taylor-Beierl – VCU graduate student (Education) and academic professional